Skip to content

Twisted Root. One Disappointment After Another.

July 9, 2010

Here’s Twisted Root’s “Philosophy” straight from their website:

Three chefs, sick of eating frozen and factory-fabricated burgers, decided to quit their jobs to open a real burger joint and make everything from scratch. Hand-rolled meat patties, hand-cut Idaho and sweet potatoes, homemade ice-cream, homemade pickles and homemade Root Beer… even homemade ketchup, mustard and BBQ sauce!

It’s slap-yo-momma good!

Did we mention it’s all homemade?

So here’s the problem… I went into a Twisted Root overly anxious to try one of their highly anticipated hamburgers. I did my research like I do for any new burger joint. I read their “philosophy,” only to heighten my excitement, but soon to be let down when I started asking their staff questions of their homemade items.

Question 1 (more of a statement): I read that Twisted Root makes their own Root Beer.

Response: Well, we don’t make our own Root Beer — it comes just like the other beverages. But we do flavor it ourselves.

In my mind, flavoring something does not equate to creating something from scratch. That’s like saying that I made my car because I added a sound system to it. No one would buy that. Not one bit!

Question 2: Do you make your own ice cream?

Response: It’s a mix.

At this point, I am already disappointed and starting to think that my burger won’t be all that good. Twisted Root is twisted. And that’s no good. But if you know me, you know that I try to be optimistic and you know how I feel about fries. That’s the only thing I’m looking forward to, now. Yes, good, hand-cut french fries, which they boast about, can make my day. Hand-cut fries can be a meal all by themselves. So, when they called the name they gave me, I was John McClane from Die Hard, I was all excited again. But when I saw everything, I thought, “These don’t look like hand-cut fries.” They might have even been from a bag, not fresh potatoes. At the end of my meal when I realized that I paid $24 for my wife and I to eat food no better than Burger King, I was hurt. I think I may have cried in frustration. I got three words for them… NOPE! NOT AGAIN.

Twisted Root Burger Co. on Urbanspoon

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Daniel Sandoval permalink
    July 19, 2010 6:48 PM

    Albert, I love you, you are a good friend, but I am offended by this blog. Twisted Root is so much better than you are giving them credit for. I have been to two of their locations and while I will say that the food is not as good at the Richardson location, it is a far cry above BURGER KING! Go to the original in Deep Ellum, and see if your opinion changes. This backs up my philosophy that franchising a great restaurant is not always a good thing.
    I am with you in the search for the world’s best burger my friend, so I am encouraging you to give a great place another chance, except no substitutions, go to the original! I will go with you!

  2. RalphyBoy permalink
    August 10, 2010 2:02 PM

    While I agree that TR may not be as bad as Burger King, you can certainly do one hell of a lot better elsewhere. I went to the SMU Blvd location a while back and I was thoroughly disappointed. The meat was completely dry and lifeless. The bun was toasted, but it tasted like it came out of a Mrs. Baird’s sack (homemade my ass). The sweet potato chips were awful – cold and chewy and completely devoid of seasoning.

    I’ve tried to go to the Deep Ellum location more than once and each time the line was out the door. Given that there are so many great burger places around here, I can say without a doubt that I won’t even bother with the other TR locations. Do I really need to go to the original TR to get a good burger? I shouldn’t have to. Lots of local chains have consistency of quality figured out.

    Can I name a few better choices? Sure. In no particular order…

    Snuffer’s
    Jake’s
    Burger House
    Keller’s
    Maple & Motor
    Kenny’s
    Burger Island
    Sonic
    Whataburger

    …and the list goes on.

  3. August 10, 2010 3:26 PM

    Thanks, RalphyBoy. The gentleman who commented before you has just started a group called Burger Club Dallas. I will recommend some of the joints on your list to him for us to go try. Maple & Motor? That sounds cool!

    http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=140933192605307

  4. August 10, 2010 11:09 PM

    Please do come join us RalphyBoy, it should be a good time. Let the people of DFW (true Burger lovers that is) choose, not D Magazine or any other publication. We will find out who is the best, and who knows maybe even get Food Network involved!
    Thanks again Albert

    – Burger Club Dallas

  5. August 18, 2010 9:51 PM

    Twisted Root has gone downhill since they opened – when they had one location in Deep Ellum it was great stuff but I am not sure what has happened – http://questforburgers.blogspot.com/2009/10/twisted-root-burger-company-october-21.html

  6. Finley Wheatback permalink
    May 14, 2013 10:21 PM

    Who gives a flying flip if they make the root beer or ice cream themselves. They are a burger joint, and the burgers are awesome. The meat is a mix of chuck and brisket, and you can upgrade to wild game if you want. Seriously? Where was even a mention of the burgers?

  7. November 15, 2013 1:50 PM

    Mr. Wheatback, I believe you’re correct to an extent. Their burgers are pretty good and they’re of good quality. However, from a marketing perspective, when you say you are something, you kind of have to be that “something”. I’m not picking on Twisted Root, but they are a great example of how failure to execute can begin to erode one’s confidence in the chain as a whole. I wouldn’t care if they made their root beer or ice cream if the website hadn’t said they did. That combined with the hit-or-miss excellence depending on location makes me wonder what else isn’t spot on. You don’t know how many times someone has told me, “If you don’t like the food at the Richardson location, you should try the original.” Does anyone say that of McDonald’s, Starbucks, or even Razzoo’s? My opinion of chains is this… If you can’t recreate it flawlessly, don’t open any more locations.

    Thanks for you comment. Who cares if we agree or not, I honestly appreciate that you read the article.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers