Skip to content

Ralph, Kacoo… and James!

July 11, 2010

My wife and I decided to try a new restaurant tonight — Ralph & Kacoo’s in Allen, Texas. If you like seafood, this won’t be your favorite. If you enjoy a Cajun, New Orleans-inspired atmosphere, this isn’t the one for you. Now, that’s not so good when their concept is a New Orleans-style seafood restaurant. My wife and I ordered and shared the Taste of Louisiana, a trio of fried crawfish tails, alligator and popcorn shrimp. Mmm! Fried gator. This was one of the best fried seafood appetizers I’ve ever had.  It was lightly fried and not too greasy. Unfortunately, it wasn’t good enough to make my first impression a good one; however, the waiter, James, was. His service was so on point that my wife and I will be returning. We thought it was funny when he told us not to cheat on him with another server.

Next, we had the certified Angus beef ribeye, grilled shrimp and a blackened Mahi-Mahi fillet accompanied by Cajun rice, steamed vegetables, and a Cajun stuffed potato. The ribeye was just okay, but pretty good for a seafood restaurant. I didn’t try the grilled shrimp, but my wife said that it smelled like cat. That was enough to turn her off completely. The blackened Mahi-Mahi should’ve been amazing since seafood is their specialty, but it lacked something and I wanted it to be so much more than it was. The rice wasn’t too bad, but it didn’t beat Zatarain’s and in my opinion, a Cajun restaurant should make Cajun rice better than a boxed rice. My buddy said that they should’ve used Zatarain’s. I agree. The steamed veggies were overcooked and the flavor of bad bacon permeated the Cajun stuffed potato.

Finally, James recommended dessert. They have this peach cobbler that is obviously so good that they run out every time they make it. It’s currently only available on the weekends, so to insure that you get some, go on Friday or Saturday. We had the bread pudding with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. It was delicious. They put fresh blueberries on top, which I though was going to be weird, but no! It was a perfect combination.

Altogether, Ralph & Kacoo’s was a bit disappointing. Maybe it was just a bad day in the kitchen — who knows?

Ralph and Kacoo's on Urbanspoon

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 24, 2010 4:03 PM

    I don’t think it was a bad day for the people who posted on July 11. We were there a couple years ago and thought the food was probably a 5 on a scale of 1-10. It was a dissapointing experience and especially when we received the bill.

Leave a Reply

