Skip to content

McRib. Bad Meaning Bad or Bad Meaning Good?

November 2, 2010

Yep, the McRib is back. This is the first time in 16 years that the McRib will be available at every U.S. McDonald’s at once. But who’s really excited about this? Earlier today, I found out that not everyone feels like I do about this cookie-cut pork patty. My buddy, Chris, better known as “DJ Cool C” to most, told me that it was amazing.

I said to him, “It’s a rib sandwich with no ribs?”

“Exactly!” he says, “How can you complain about that?”

I’m just saying, it sounds nasty to me. It’s also weird — even McDonald’s knows that it’s weird. Years ago, they created a fictitious website for “Boneless Pig Farmers of America.” I’m sure that was all in fun, but come on — it’s like a pork nugget. So as Chris and I came to the end of our conversation, another friend came by to boast of the McRib’s deliciousness. Knowing that I’d never agree with them or understand their thought process, I decided to see if I was the only one who thought that even the idea of this sandwich was disgusting. Hence the poll at the bottom.

Well, regardless of how you feel, the McRib will only be with us for six more weeks. And for all of you fans, McDonald’s is holding a contest for the best story about hunting for or eating McRibs. The winner will get a free trip to Germany, where the sandwich is always on the menu.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Francesca permalink
    November 2, 2010 3:37 PM

    I don’t think its fair to say you don’t like something until you have tried it :).

  2. November 2, 2010 3:55 PM

    Okay, Francesca. Although I never said it tastes nasty, I did say it sounds nasty. Maybe that’s unfair, but it’s still my opinion. Take that you youngster!

  3. November 3, 2010 3:47 AM

    Looks interesting, I hope we have it here in New Zealand so I can have a try. I guess it would taste the same as the pork rib sub on Subway which we have here and they taste good.

    Raymund
    http://angsarap.wordpress.com

  4. November 3, 2010 10:26 AM

    I have basked in the glory that is the McRib, and while I will probably miss this opportunity to indulge once again I will always have its back.

  5. Sherry Wagner permalink
    November 3, 2010 10:28 AM

    Don’t knock it until you have at least tried it people!

Trackbacks

  1. McRib is AAAWWWEESSSOOMMMEEE!! « Eatin' More Food
  2. The Non-Marketing Plan. | EATIN' FOOD: Restaurant Marketing Blog

Leave a Reply

