Skip to content

Don’t Do It, BK.

November 10, 2011

A couple of months ago, Burger Kind decided to dethrone the king and take the phrase, “Beef is King!” literally. I know! Crazy, huh? Their goal is to increase sales by focusing on how fresh their ingredients are. The new commercials will only feature fresh ingredients being sliced to music — no words and no king. I actually believe they tried this before. Remember the patties, lettuce, tomato, and onions flying through the air?

I’m a little bummed. I’m thinking, ‘Didn’t the new BK executives read the QSR Magazine article by Jordan Melnick?’ He made a great point, “Mascots have an ability to go where companies can’t or CEOs shouldn’t.” Although the king was a bit of a ladies’ man and had more of an edgy personality, he could’ve changed his ways. He could’ve been more a family man like Jack Box, who has had his wife and son in commercials. I like the king; however, it would be weird waking up to a plastic-faced man in my bed. Heck, it would be weird waking up to any man in my bed.

Maybe Roy Bergold, ex-McDonald’s exec and frequent writer for QSR Magazine, said it best, “A couple of years ago I was talking to one of their marketing executives. He asked me about the King. I said I thought he was scary. He agreed. Said his little daughter was terrified of the guy. Maybe they finally got around to making the change they should have made a long time ago.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

