Skip to content

Rick Ross & Wingstop: A Steretypical Match Made in Memphis.

December 6, 2011

Back in August, recording artist Rick Ross signed a development agreement to bring Wingstop to Memphis, Tennessee. At the time, I thought it was pretty funny as an onlooker seeing this all play out. I mean, it is stereotypical of a black rapper to buy a franchise of chicken restaurants. Hey! I can laugh. I’m a black man who loves chicken.

Well, I sort of forgot all about this until I read The 100 Biggest Stories of 2011 in QSR Magazine. Can you believe that the Rick Ross/Wingstop deal made the list at no. 55? Furthermore, before all of this ever happened, Ross went as far as rapping about Wingstop’s Lemon Pepper-flavored wings on an album. The idea of that reminds me of the popular Bust the Windows… video on YouTube — thanks, Ashley, for sharing that with the office.

No matter how I look at it, though, it is obvious that Ross has his game face on. He doesn’t want to be here today and gone tomorrow. This guy is all about longevity — if not as a rapper, for sure as a business man. He once said, “I knew this was a franchise I wanted to add to my investments.” Investments! That’s plural. Rappers of yesterday didn’t speak of such things. That would only cramp their gangsta style. Rappers of today are no different than Donald Trump. As the rapper puts it, “I’m MC Hammer, I’m about cream.” It’s all about the Benjamins, baby! Yep, I said it. Even Jim Flynn, Wingstop CEO, understands this. “Rick Ross will be a great addition to the Wingstop family. He’s a talented artist and brings a huge fan base to the concept. We look forward to growing the brand with him in Memphis.”

Though I congratulate Rick Ross for his diversity and am proud of Wingstop for welcoming such a deal, it all just seems so funny. I keep thinking, ‘Who’s next? Three 6 Mafia?’

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

