Skip to content

Domino’s Longest Email Ever!

June 15, 2012

It seems as though I’ve been writing an awful lot about the pizza industry lately. If it’s not about love and sweepstakes, it’s CEOs and robots. Fortunately, for the sake of not being redundant, this article isn’t about any of that stuff, unless you count the email blasts and the internet as robots. Yesterday, I received an email from Domino’s Pizza that was pretty cool. It wasn’t full of bells and whistles and all kinds of interactivity — it was full of words! If you were to take out all URLs and words within pictures, you would be at approximately 10 paragraphs and 390 words just in the main body copy. That doesn’t even include the 145 words of legal text.

I’m sure this sounds like I’m complaining, but I loved it. I specifically liked how it opened:

Dear Domino’s Customer, Can you remember a time before email and text messages? I sure can. That’s why I convinced my bosses to let me write a letter to you as a departure from our regular emails. You know, a real letter with all the words spelled out.

A departure from the norm is exactly what this email was. I found myself reading like it was from a client or something. I wish you could see a snapshot of it, but it was extremely long. Printing the screen didn’t even capture it all. Under any other circumstance this would be email marketing at its worst, but this was genius.

I don’t remember everything the email mentioned, but I got the gist of it, I know who the email was from, and I wrote about it. Good job, Domino’s. You went against the protocol and succeeded. You make me proud to be from Michigan.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

