Skip to content

Say It Ain’t So, Pizza Hut.

January 3, 2015
Pizza Hut's Doritos Crunchy Crust

Pizza Hut’s Doritos Crunchy Crust

I don’t know where I’ve been for the last few weeks to miss the launch of Pizza Hut Australia’s Doritos Crunchy Crust, but thank you, God. Unfortunately, because of what it’s doing to my perception of Yum! Brands [but fortunately for this blog], I heard about it on a rerun of Late Night with Seth Meyers. I guess I can’t really knock it until I try it, but some things that don’t seem to go together, probably shouldn’t go together. I’m just saying. Now the awesomeness that is the Doritos Locos Taco from Taco Bell is just that… AWESOME… and amazing, but let’s be real, it didn’t really surprise us in the sense of whether or not it should exist. It seemed like a match made in quick serve heaven. With the Doritos Crunchy Crust pizza on the other hand, it seems to be more of an alarm for me that it does exist.

Don’t get me wrong. I do understand why enhanced crusts are necessary for the pizza industry. For most pizza concepts, it’s a great and inexpensive way to create a brand new product without changing the core of the product. A new promotion means more customers. When I made my rounds to the Pizza Inn corporate locations, I noticed that a lot of people left their crust on their plates and returned to the buffet to get more pizza. If they ate their crust, they would be fuller faster and wouldn’t cost the restaurant as much money. So it’s important to the non-traditional pizza concepts as well. I get it. I guess my biggest issue is that they (Yum!) need to know when enough is enough. It’s like when someone tells a great joke and you think they’re the coolest person you know, but when they keep telling it, the person loses their luster and their jokes — even if a new one is told — just seems meh. If Yum! continues to combine Frito-Lay products with their existing menu, they run the risk of no longer being innovative or interesting. It’ll be just another crazy collaboration like KFC’s FUNYUNS® Fried Chicken.

Watch the brief commercial below.

One Comment leave one →
  1. yobro permalink
    January 7, 2015 2:08 PM

    Dorito Mountain Dew was the worst idea yet. How about inserting chocolate in the crust so you could have your pizza and dessert all in one. Volcano crust!

Leave a Reply

